Cloak Pin Plays the Ace

I have the Universal Fantasy Tarot on order, and was browsing some examples on the Internet when I became enraptured by the Ace of Pentacles card.

It looked very much like some engravings I have in a clip art collection of penannular-style brooches/cloak pins. This style of brooch was used as far back as the Bronze age, and there are many fine examples in museums as well as beautiful reproductions available to buy.

Penannular comes from the Latin paene which means “almost” and annulus which means “ring.” So, the penannular style of brooch is almost ring-shaped. It would be impossible to say for sure, but it makes me wonder is the artist of the deck, Paolo Martinello, was inspired by a penannular brooch for the frame of the balloon?

I love it when I get decks and an image sets off a visual memory that I have to track down. This is one of the freshest looking Aces I’ve seen. What a wonderful concept!

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Card Collection

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

