Dimensional Fun

Part of the joy of cards is in their odd dimensions. I like big cards, the wider and taller the better, and I like round cards. Last fall, I became interested in patience-sized playing cards, which are petite cards for playing Patience or Solitaire in small spaces, as when travelling, or perhaps on a small table in front of the television.

Here’s a visual layout of a conventional-sized playing card deck, and a conventional-sized tarot deck with some interesting comparisons. Well, I find them interesting!

The Tudor Rose playing cards were designed and printed for the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II, so they’ve been in print for 55 years. They seem to be tied with the Visual I Ching for smallest card in my collection. I love the Berliner Pattern Slim Cards, and they are also a good size for solitaire in a tight space. There’s something very dramatic and artsy about the larger cards, I find them irresistible.

Dimensions

Explore posts in the same categories: Card Collection

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

