The Great Purse Thingy

I’ve overdyed a pink and green 80s fabric with some royal blue, and it looks good but I think I’m going to paint leaves on it first with a dark blue fabric paint. Well, that’s the plan.

I found a pattern for a trapezoid-shaped purse in a book. All you do is cut a 12 x 16-inch rectangle, fold it right sides together so that it’s 12 x 8 inches, then put a point 2 inches in at the top at each side, and then draw a line down to the corner on each.

You then sew on the line and box the corners for a gusset and sew across 5/8 inches in and that’s it. Do the same for the lining and you can interline with iron-on interfacing. I only have buckram in the house so I’m using that. Then you make a fabric strap–I just cut a piece 6 inches by whatever I had (about 31 inches) and I’ll fold and sew that to attach.

It’s just a puttering project to do some experimentation with dye.

Explore posts in the same categories: Sewing

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

