The Rue Esmé Collection

I bought a fashion doll to make clothes for. Not a Barbie, but a Robert Tonner doll, specifically the Wicked Witch of the West with green skin from their 2006 Wizard of Oz collection. The doll I bought was a display doll from a store that was listed at 40% off and comes complete with this outfit. It is called Emerald City Cosmopolitan.

I’ve often admired these dolls, particularly when I was looking at Wizard of Oz and Alice in Wonderland paraphernalia to go with card decks I have on those subjects. I never thought I’d be able to afford one but I was pleased that someone offers the display dolls, I often buy used card decks so that kind of thing doesn’t bother me.

She is coming via UPS in two days!

I’ve already named her “Rue Esmé” so any outfits, jewellery, handbags, shoes or whatever will belong to The Rue Esmé Collection complete with a label I designed that I will feature in posts about this. She started out as “Ru” but I made a spelling error when doing the label up and then figured it was providence so kept the “e” on her name. I had been calling her The Green One but it’s not respectful so she needs a proper name!

I’ve been going through all my quilting cottons and odd things and I’ve got piles of possibilities. Once I get the doll I’ll be able to check fabrics against her skin tone and see what will be suitable. I’ve also ordered a book from Amazon.ca with patterns for fashion dolls too.

Busy days ahead of creativity for summer holidays. I am quite excited as I haven’t bought a doll since the 1990s and all my other dolls are either dollhouse people or French bébé types. I can’t wait to sew modern clothes and handbags and make all kinds of little sets of earrings and necklaces.

Here’s a very creative person who also loves this Wicked Witch Doll
http://dorriebelle.tripod.com/id28.html

Explore posts in the same categories: Dolls, Sewing

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

