Pincushion Dreams

I have one pincushion that I bought in 1978 or so, featuring Chinese children and lovely Chinese brocade fabric. There’s a little box in the centre where you can keep odd things like buttons or thread.

I also have a cute pattern for making a pincushion that looks like a Possum in a dress and apron. I’ve had that pattern for at least 16 years and the Possum hasn’t materialized. My oldest sister would say that I am “ageing” the pattern. Things have to be properly aged before one uses them. I might be inspired to make this possum lady pincushion, somewhere between the 500 other projects I have to do.

Isn’t she cute? I like that the pattern says “She’ll keep you company in the sewing room.” Yeah baby, I need all the company I can get. I will be on holidays for a month and during that time I have to go to the fabric store and Michael’s, so I’ll keep an eye out for a suitable doily, buttons, roses, and ribbon for this lady. They use polyester stuffing, but I think I’ll buy a bit of sand to weight her on the bottom too.

Dreams are like sand, they blow away, but sometimes they come back.

Explore posts in the same categories: Sewing

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

