Recent News

I just did an update on my Books I am Reading Page for anyone interested in the newer books and comments on books I have finished.
https://jjbks.wordpress.com/books-i-am-reading/

We have had car problems so haven’t been able to go out much. My washing machine died, it must be close to 40 years-old, I bought it used when it was about 17 years-old. My house is falling apart, it gets very discouraging not to have the money for basic repairs, let alone decorating, and now the laundry is heaped up. Sigh.

On a high note, I bought two new card decks with birthday money (Tarot Lenormand and the Druid Plant Oracle), and entered them in my database which is entirely up-to-date after all my work entering and scanning decks. I am up to 297 decks now, which includes my two bundles of Art Postcards, about 500 cards in them, plus a couple of boxed postcards sets, for a total of about 600 postcards.

I have the two Wonder Wallets for my sisters all cut out and pressed, ready to sew. They look really good, one is predominantly lime and emerald green with cobalt blue, and the other has gold, black and soft blue fabrics and prints that look like Japanese fabrics.

I have decided to try silk painting to customize fabric for doll clothes and handbags. I buy my dyes, paints, and fabrics from G & S Dye in Toronto. The owner, Dixon Chan, is very big on customer service and very helpful. He recently sent me some free samples of silks, so I could feel the weight of the various silk and silk blends to decide what would be best. I’m going to buy some coloured gutta and try some of that technique. I can dye silk ribbon as well to go with any fabric I might produce for doll clothes. Silk is so lustrous even with dye and paint on it, I’m sure I can come up with something neat.

Explore posts in the same categories: Books, Sewing

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

