Busy, busy

I’m supposed to be updating my web site with new stuff, but the Bell Canada server is incredibly slow. I’ve got the graphics and write-ups done so hopefully during a quiet morning I can get those put up.

I learned an interesting thing this week: the Jack of Diamonds on French playing cards usually depicts Hector, the son of King Priam and the captain of the Trojan forces in the Trojan War. While I have many decks of French cards, they are themed decks with variance in the court cards subject to the theme. I did manage to find one depicting Hector in my Claude Weisbuch playing cards. Claude Weisbuch is a printmaker and painter from France who also designs theatre sets. I love his artwork, and this card deck is a reinterpretation of the French pattern with designs engraved on copper with dry point.

Oh, and I’m naming my new car “Hector.”
Because I CAN.

Explore posts in the same categories: Card Collection, History

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

