Dewey the Library Cat

I just saw a marvelous book I’d like to read that was published this month. Books have been so much a part of my life, and I also enjoyed working in a library for eleven years and building rapport with patrons, so when I saw this book I was delighted.

Dewey was a ginger-coloured kitten that was put through the library drop box during a cold winter in Iowa. The library staff, patrons, and townspeople adopted him and he lived for 19 years as the mascot of the library, loved by all.

My former library needed the small-town kindness and care for life as recalled in this book, instead of the protracted and officious bullying of staff and patrons that became their accepted policy.

The spirit of libraries and community is still alive elsewhere though! This book is a MUST read, so I’ve put a hold on it in my new library system where it is currently being catalogued.

Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World by Vicki Myron
ISBN-10: 0446407410
ISBN-13: 978-0446407410

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

