The Great Bon Bon Spoon Imperative

I bought an old spoon in a junk shop in Peterborough about 18 years ago. The woman at the store referred to it as a pickle spoon, and I tried to clean it up with silver polish, but it wouldn’t come clean so I put it in a drawer and forgot about it.

I was speaking to an online acquaintance, who does not have a lot of money, but buys nice things in thrift shops and then displays them in her home. She showed several photographs of lovely plates and one with beads and a silver fork displayed on it. I got all excited about this, and displaying nice things for cheer in the home.

When we first moved into this house 21 years ago, I had no money for art and so I started collecting old dinner plates to display on the wall. Some of them were only $3, but when you do up a montage on the wall they look so elegant and pretty.

diningplates

Seeing this woman’s picture brought this back to me and I took out my spoon and photographed it. Then I searched online for some recipes for homemade silver cleaner and I found one that worked. My spoon, which I thought was damaged and thus wouldn’t come clean, came out beautifully. I could smell the awful old silver polish leeching out of it when I soaked it in hot water and baking soda with strips of aluminum foil in a bowl. On the back I could finally make out the stamp Community Plate and then I thought to do some research online and find out what this was and the pattern name.

Community Plate was the company that became Oneida, yet I couldn’t find my particular pattern name. It has stylized daffodils and looks vaguely Art Nouveau but nothing came up. I wrote to the people at www.silverpattern.com and they wrote me back immediately the next day. Great service. My pattern is called “Rendezvous” and was introduced in 1938. The piece is called a BON BON/NUT SPOON.

How exciting to find such a thing out. I paid 50 cents for my spoon and it is worth about $20 now, although I wouldn’t sell it. I’ve been keeping it on my drafting board and taking pictures of it with some of my botanical cards. This one was taken before it was cleaned:

botanicalsoul

And this one was taken after:

bonbonspoon_lg

It’s amazing what comes up in life when you aren’t expecting it. I have had such fun with this, and you can rotate the goodies and get a fresh display from month to month.

Explore posts in the same categories: History

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

