Paste Paper Blahs

I’ve got my journal all sewn together, and I inserted a few pages of shorter Canson Mi-Teintes paper, so that the main pages can peek out underneath these folios of colour.

artjournaljj

I didn’t have enough paper to cut my endpapers on the proper grain for my artist’s journal, so I tried making paste paper from some older sheets that were scuffed up.

People say this technique is addictive and pleasurable. I bombed out, and my paste was too thick but I managed to thin it down and whisk it enough to get one colour and lay it down. Awful, I didn’t find it fun at all and my tendinitis flared up whisking this paste, so I’m having nerve pain today.

yuck

So, plan 2 involves using some other craft paper I have–Canson Colorline paper which is slightly better than construction paper but not as good as Mi-Teintes. Hmm, I do have a large black sheet of Mi-Teintes–since I’m outlining and inking a lot in black for the journal that might be more suitable. I can also use gold ink on it, yummy.

In the meantime, I ordered two interlibrary loans on the Camino:

Sue Kenney’s My Camino by Sue Kenney
Pilgrimage to the End of the World: The Road to Santiago de
Compostela
by Conrad Rudolph

Explore posts in the same categories: Artwork, Creativity

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

