Piecing That Purple Thing

These are the two blocks I’ve chosen to finish off the corners of the purple medallion top that I’m currently trying to finish after it languished for 12 years. They are easy machine-pieced things. The block on the left is going to be 12″ (with one corner swapped out for a large right-angle triangle so it fits along a diagonal), and the block on the right is 16.”

The left one was called “Unknown” in a Jan Halgrimson book called Great Scrap-Bag Quilts, and the other was pictured in Quilter’s Newsletter Magazine and is called “Use It All” and was designed by Grace Simpson for her book Quilts Beautiful.

purple_piece

I drew them both up in EQ4 and made regular templates rather than choosing to do cutting. This is basically to make the cutting more portable for bits of scraps. My own reasoning, but I get tired of being chained to a cutting mat and rotary cutter by my ironing board as I don’t have room to lay things out, whereas I can trace a square on a scrap with no problem.

I finished appliquéing the vine so will now putter away piecing the large corners to get this up to a decent lap quilt size. I still haven’t decided if I’m going to make it longer than 82.” I could squeak in a row of 12″ blocks along the bottom and use up more scraps. . . .

Explore posts in the same categories: Quilting

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

