Some Like to Twitter, and Some Don’t

I usually look up new phenomena on computers and the Internet. I know a couple people on Twitter, and have seen it referenced in other people’s online profiles in blogs and forums.

From Wikipedia:

“Twitter is a free social networking and micro-blogging service that enables its users to send and read other users’ updates known as tweets. Tweets are text-based posts of up to 140 characters in length which are displayed on the user’s profile page and delivered to other users who have subscribed to them (known as followers).”

I have never seen anything so pointless. I understand the theory of networking, particularly for business, and maybe it works, who knows? Anything works for a time. However, if I saw a business using Twitter I’d find it ridiculous.

I often use the words “vacuous” or “vapid” for online groups and the deterioration of human communication. A read of posts on Twitter only cements my philosophy.

What happened to human intellect? It isn’t on Twitter, that’s for sure.

Explore posts in the same categories: Computers

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Some Like to Twitter, and Some Don’t”

  1. annainpdx Says:

    Hi Judith! Sorry I missed your comment at Annalysis for so long. Well, I wanted to tell you first off that Twitter is the weirdest thing I have ever heard of and I don’t understand the appeal AT ALL – it’s vapid enough updating the social networking pages like MySpace and Facebook with inane things like “so and so is glad it is Friday”… but Twitter contains nothing BUT those silly updates – it’s really strange. Also, I love your quilt with the kitty cats on it. Also, I miss you very much on the Ulysses reading group. It is true we could talk about Ulysses a lot more than we do, though.

    • JJ ColourArt Says:

      Hi Anna,

      You are a busy gal, so no worries about not replying. I miss you too!

      Still forging on in the book but somewhat weary of it all. I like the chapters with Poldy, my hero, but otherwise I’m not too keen. I feel I should read to the end though, so I know what all the fuss is about. Or not.


Leave a Reply

