Books On Order

I was recently looking at a card in the beautiful and interesting Diary of a Broken Soul Tarot, which has stunning artwork and was a gift to me from a kindred spirit. It reminded me of Sir Richard Burton, the Victorian explorer whose biography I read last year. Today I’m re-reading a Tim Powers book called Declare which I started around 2002, and didn’t finish, and they mentioned T. E. Lawrence; good old Lawrence of Arabia.

I find the British policies and history of the foreign office, including espionage as earlier practiced by Burton and carried on by Lawrence, rather interesting, so I’ve ordered a good biography of Lawrence and hope the library can get it in for me. The challenge after that will be reading it on three weeks, as it’s 624 pages. Although an older 1998 publication, it’s still expensive in used editions or I would have bought one to read at my leisure.

A Prince of Our Disorder: The Life of T. E. Lawrence by John E. Mack.

I sold a card deck and with the money purchased two books on abstract art techniques which I’m currently waiting for. In an effort to finally start painting and drawing instead of freezing up when I see a white sheet of paper, I’m doing some artwork in response to the Diary of a Broken Soul deck and would like to try a few abstract techniques eventually and mix things up, use new techniques and generally mess around with my art supplies to loosen up. These sounded like just the thing for that.

Abstract and Colour Techniques in Painting by Claire Harrigan

Painting Abstracts: Ideas, Projects and Techniques by Rolina van Vliet

I am currently trading for two other decks, so should have some great things to work with in the coming weeks leading into Spring. I don’t have the money to buy unless I trade or sell something so it has been nice to find people to help me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Books, Creativity

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

