Another Peyote Bracelet and Hexagon Bag

I was waiting to update this all at once but I’m never sure when I’m going to finish projects, so I’ll update a bit now.

I started another peyote bracelet in a 3-drop peyote stitch. I figured this out from a picture in a book and then did my own variation. I’m a bit stumped on how to attach the toggle with a 3-drop stitch and have it look even, so I set it aside to think about it.

This has a rather Art Deco look to it and feels wonderfully smooth and silky on my wrist. I just have to attach the toggle. Sometimes I find it hard teaching myself things when it would be so easy to learn with someone beside me.

I also finished the Hexagon Bag I made up from a free pattern available online. I decided it was going to bug me if the strap wasn’t sewn on symmetrically, so I made two extra hexagons and attached them at the bottom and then sewed the bag up flat, so that it has a little pedestal on the bottom.

My reasoning was that on the inside of the bag, this section at the bottom will hold my wallet with other things on top. That made sense for security since I didn’t add a closure to the bag. I refer to the wooden buttons as my “bespoke” parrot buttons. There is a set on the front and the back.

I have made a Snap Happy purse that just fits inside here. As there are no pockets, I thought the Snap Happy would solve the problem of storing small things. I’m just sewing up the matching Wonder Wallet for this too. Will get back with pictures in a few days.

Strike that. Here they are, a nice set for me to toodle around with.

Explore posts in the same categories: Jewellery, Sewing

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

