Two Nightie Jude Sews On

I finally got around to sewing the two nighties I cut out in January of this year. I didn’t realize it had been so long (October 2009) since I had bought the pattern and fabric.

It went well, I really like the Kwik Sew patterns, although they are sized very big. I made a large and a medium would have fitted me better. Still, they are both nice and cozy and felt more substantial than store bought. I also learned how to sew buttonholes for the first time in my life.

I’ve had this sewing machine for 18 years and I’ve really never used it for anything but piecing and quilting, so it has felt strange to use the zig-zag stitch and use the measurements on the plate for seam allowances instead of my quarter-inch presser foot. I bought some simple patterns to slowly build my sewing skills again and make more clothes.

My next project will be some short-sleeved summer shirts for the spouse. I bought some fabrics on sale and the black print I had in my stash. It only takes about 1.9 metres to make a shirt and I have all the interfacing. Last week I went on a mad dash throwing out old shirts and snipping off the buttons to save them so I don’t have to buy buttons, I’m all set. Thanks to 27 years of quilting I’ve got lots of thread in matching colours.

After reading reviews and seeing some finished projects of shirt patterns on Pattern Review, I decided on this Kwik Sew pattern.

To help myself in this endeavour I bought an inexpensive copy for $12 of a book that everyone seems to rave about, Shirtmaking by David Coffin. I have my old trusty 1979 edition of the Reader’s Digest Sewing Book but I felt for sewing shirts, which can be more like tailoring depending on what you’re doing, I wanted a book with more details.

I will use the technique of sewing two shirts at once like I did the nighties, because I found that although it slows me down a bit while cutting and sewing, I get two items done without having one of them half done. That worked very well for me, a serial procrastinator.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Sewing

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

