Tulip Time

Spring and tulips and time for new handbags!

I have had the Two-Hour Tulip Purse pattern on my wish list for a year or two and finally decided to order the pattern. The pattern gets wonderful reviews and there are countless examples on the Web of purses sewn from this pattern by Anything But Boring. I will be adding longer shoulder straps on my version.

 

The local fabric store had a sale on and I was able to buy a whole meter of quilting cotton for $3 CAD to use for this purse. I also bought a button at 50% off that has an iridescent colouring with faint glints of purple, like imitation abalone. I already had the lovely emerald cording for macramé jewellery in my stash, which I will braid to get a thicker cord for the closure on this purse. The colour is just right, I thought I’d have to dye some cording but this is perfect.

Here it is beside the page in my sketchbook where I am drawing tulips for a Spring montage.

I have regular iron-on interfacing and batting in my stash at home so I’m ready to go once the pattern gets here from the States.  I have ordered my handbag patterns for years from Henrietta at Purse Patterns and her service is excellent, as is her inventory from various independent designers. It’s worth a browse and her shipping prices are very reasonable, particularly for those of us in Canada.

I am slowly working up the small cross stitch for the cover of the memory book for my Labrador retriever who died in March. I am doing this on a sage-coloured 16 count Aida fabric, so it’s quite small to work, but coming along. It will be bordered and appliqued on the woven front of the book which you can see here cut out and ready to be lined and have fabric binding applied after I finish the cross stitch.

Things are moving along; I have many plans for projects and Spring is always inspirational.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Sewing

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

