Matchbook Notebooks

I borrowed a book from the library called Making Mini Books: Big Ideas for 30+ Little Projects by Kathleen McCafferty. The first project looks like a matchbook but actually contains paper so you can tuck it in a purse or wallet, and thus have paper handy for notes or lists.

I thought this was a great idea and made a few up based on dimensions taken from my husband’s wallet. I wanted to make it a size that would fit in the billfold and not get crushed. These are made with scrapbook paper covers rather than cardstock, as they will be protected by an outer wallet or pocket. They have various amounts of coloured and white paper, from 9 to 14 pages.

My stapler is not the greatest, so I wanted to try a different method of making these and found a terrific tutorial online which a woman from the UK generously shared on her blog.

These are sewn with embroidery floss and use cardstock or Bristol board for the covers. I used a heavier double-sided scrapbooking paper for the pink one. The aqua one is Bristol board decorated with a swish of acrylic paint. I found 2 to 3 strands of embroidery floss plenty as you go through the holes twice. For punching holes I used a lightweight awl which was difficult to get through, so after punching I went through each half separately to ensure the holes were big enough to sew through. I used a regular bone folder for scoring the paper for folding and a Fiskars cutter to trim the paper to size.

I plan to make a few more of these and have some gorgeous Bazzill cardstock in plain colours that I’m going to embellish with clip art. I wanted to print some flowers and antique art and prints to make these fancier.

This is a small, fun project to help me relax on my holidays.

Update: After writing this post I pasted some clip art on some of the small ones to jazz them up a bit. The coffee-coloured ones are Bazzill cardstock but I can’t finish them because I need to buy a better stapler next week. I will be gluing more antique-y looking clip art on various colours of cardstock for the thicker books.

Explore posts in the same categories: Bookbinding, Creativity

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

