My First Attempts at Beaded Spiral Rope

This week of holidays I have been learning how to bead spiral ropes with seed bead mixes.

I have had instructions for this in books for years but it never made sense. I joined a mailing list where members clarified a few things for me and away I went. I used C-Lon AA thread for the peach one and Nymo D thread for the purple one and waxed them with beeswax.

The peach one on the left is my prototype done with 12° colour-lined transparent beads from China. I bought these beads in bulk from a wholesaler when I had my business, and they are quite irregular and not the best quality but they work up nicely. This was a green and peach combination with a gold tone lobster claw and split rings. I made up a small counterweight with a headpin and some of the beads in the necklace.

The second one was done with 6° glossy hematite coloured beads for the core and a green AB matte 6° accent bead in the centre of the spiral of 12° transparent blue beads lined with purple. This was also finished with a lobster claw and a counterweight. Simple but a nice beginner’s project.

I like the purple and green one so much I am going to teach myself how to do a Cellini Spiral as a central accent, and then do this same purple and green combination for the straps coming out of the larger spiral.

The nice thing about the simplicity of this stitch is that you can build on it. I bought a new book that explains some variations which I think will be helpful in building my skills: Jill Wiseman’s Beautiful Beaded Ropes: 24 Wearable Jewelry Projects in Multiple Stitches.

I love learning new techniques!!!

I made two more for good measure. They are variations on each other. The one in the box has earrings that match the counterweight on the necklace, and are for a gift.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Jewellery

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

