A New Moth in the Garden

Actually I found this moth on my kitchen ceiling. He is a tiny fellow, only about an inch at the widest tip of the wingspan. I took a picture standing on the floor so I could identify him.

KitchenMothJune9

Bingo! It is the Small Magpie Moth (Eurrhypara hortulata) and is native in northeastern North America, where I am in Ontario. They apparently feed on nettles, and I was just about to rip the nettles out of my front garden. I guess I might rethink that.

Such a beautiful, compact, yet pretty moth. My husband climbed a ladder to capture him in a container and then set him free in the garden, where I’m sure he is quite happily having a spot of nettle after his ordeal.

KitchenMoth2

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Nature

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

