Zeta Sketchbook Coming Soon to Canada

A nice gentleman at Curry’s sent me an e-mail to say that they had decided to carry the new Zeta sketchbooks from Stillman and Birn. They should be in stores by the end of July 2013.

So that covers Ontario artists anyway, and they do mail order for other parts of Canada! I hope some of the other Canadian stores start to carry them too. I love my Gamma sketchbook so much. I was just doing some blobby flowers with gouache today. I obviously need a bit of practice, but if you don’t try, you never go forward in skill. The chrysanthemum turned out okay but the white flowers didn’t.

GouacheSilkFlowers

Blobs and daubs, but I am getting good at mixing colours accurately at least. Gouache lifts off really well on this paper with plain water. That was worth learning.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Artwork

Tags: , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

6 Comments on “Zeta Sketchbook Coming Soon to Canada”


  1. I think this looks really good. Love the colours. A nice impression, and very fresh. I am pretty rubbish at mixing colours and painting, so look with admiration.

    • JJ ColourArt Says:

      After a while you get a feeling for what red or yellow or green or whatever to use to mix. It takes time and some of them aren’t obvious–one of the reasons I bought so many ready-mixed greens for my watercolour palette–I couldn’t get them mixed with consistency.

      I like the looseness of it but I overworked it–still it was nice to be looser for a change. I get so uptight when painting.

  2. Roseanne Dix Says:

    I like this – very free – gorgeous colours and good form. Lovely work Judith.

  3. mooninfog Says:

    Ah, very nice, and the overworking is only barely visible and that only because you told me to look for it. 😉 I know the feeling, though–a few years ago I painted the top of a small wooden table with purple and lavender flowers and green vines, and some worked and some didn’t. I’m irritated every time I see it although it’s pretty nice when I’m not wearing my glasses. I’m glad you’re getting back into painting!

    • JJ ColourArt Says:

      Thanks Debra! It’s hard to get past the initial stage of these things and gain experience, but that was the point of buying these excellent sketchbooks for me.

      When I do loose paintings I lose control but I am getting experience and getting much better at mixing colours.

      I am now working on 4 pages, one with watercolour pencils and Inktense pencils and the other with pen and ink and watercolour and maybe gouache and Inktense. Forging onward…


Leave a Reply

