Inktense Swatches

I was getting bored with the squares and rectangles for colour swatches, so I went to the home furnishings template and by golly that sofa sectional was just the right shape for doing swatches of my new Derwent Inktense pencils. Augmented by a few circles and squares from the metric general purpose template, I made a mandala to experiment with blends. I also left three shapes empty for pencils I might buy in the future.

DerwentInktense_Swatches_lg

My husband pulled a brand new alphabet template out of the garbage at work. I have been trying to find one of these things for three months and someone threw out a brand new one. That’s right honey, bring it home to Judith, she will know what to do with it (titling her new Inktense swatches in the Gamma sketchbook.)

Templates_Inktense

And yesterday I thought I’d prepare a few things for an upcoming study of the aspen tree. The small patches are Canson Mi-Teintes paper in three colours. The photo corners I made by hand from another scrap of Mi-Teintes. Then I glued them in with Golden Soft Gel Medium and pressed it overnight. The Canson papers are removable and I am going to do the same tree but in different media. The facing page is for a larger pen and ink and watercolour study and the coloured strips will be oriented differently. The excitement of sketchbook orientation, and you are there!

AspenStudy_web

And then I’m doing that bird thing…….

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Artwork

Tags: , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “Inktense Swatches”

  1. Roseanne Dix Says:

    perfection and innovation, thats what I see on your blogs Judith. That gave me a sweet happy smile at dawn this morning….

  2. JJ ColourArt Says:

    Ah Rose, you are easy to please! Thanks, I had a good day just messing around and it made me happy. There is nothing like colour and shape to make a happy day.

    I’m still up at midnight which is why I caught your comment. Too excited about that darn home furnishings template. I don’t know, I feel the Windsor chair shape calling me.

  3. Roseanne Dix Says:

    no Jude, not easy to please at all. you know how critical I am.! We only tell the truth to each other.


Leave a Reply

