Interesting Books and Art and Green

I received some interesting books for my birthday.

A Field Guide to Now: Notes on Mindfulness and Life in the Present Tense by Christina Rosalie.

FieldGuidetoNow

She talks a lot about becoming a new mother, not something I relate to being childless, and yet when she talks about daily life and depth and discovery it’s a gentle reminder of what’s important, so I’ve ended up really liking it. I am half way through it and savouring each chapter here and there. She has small mixed media artwork throughout the book that she did on old postcards, which I found charming.

The Awakening Artist: Madness and Spiritual Awakening in Art by Patrick Howe.

AwakeningArtist

I liked his spiritual emphasis and the exploration of art through art history. There is a lot of art history in this, as well as chapters on various religions, culture, the art world in general, and the brain and creativity.

The Artful Universe Expanded by John D. Barrow.

ArtfulUniverseExpanded

This was a surprise gift from someone and I just about rocketed to the moon. It’s about Science and Art; the author is a professor of Mathematical Sciences and he does research is cosmology. The chapters roam through such subjects as stars, evolution, death, sociology, figures and landscape, colour, music, all with examples of art and science history and discussion of specific artists. Whew, does it get any better?

I picked up the print and artwork I took into Michael’s to be framed. I found it hard to take proper photographs of them, I was getting light spots and flash white-outs. Oh well, more crummy photography, but the pictures look fabulous. I had to reposition all the art in my bedroom and fill in old holes and do paint touch-ups.

I suppose many people would find this juxtaposition a bit much, but I tend to think of it like Gertrude Stein’s apartment in Paris, with walls loaded with art from her favourite artists. I like to have my favourite art around me.

JJPics_Web

To the right is “Poetry Corner” where I keep all my poetry books, Shakespeare, Dante and books of essays. Above my bed on the right is the beautiful print Himalayan Passage by Francene Hart, the woman who painted the Sacred Geometry Oracle, and this is my favourite card in the deck. I bought this print about 10 years ago and felt I needed to get it framed before the print got wrecked. Next to that is an old oil painting my parents had over their bed. I always thought the path and the woods and water and the distant city were interesting, even mystical.

On the left wall is The Gecko of Jahanam that I painted and illustrated when I did my review of the Diary of a Broken Soul Tarot by Ash Goh (a.k.a. Ash Abdullah.)

Below here is a photograph of my antique spinet desk in my bedroom. It has cracks and scratches all over it but I like it.

JJPics_web2

On the left here is an old painting of my Mom and Dad’s from my childhood home, showing a cottage with garden and pond and trees, and a plate above that of a lady in green from my brother-in-law’s parents whom I was very fond of. The tulip watercolour is from a local artist that I waited about ten years to buy. The dinner plates are ones I purchased back when I had no money and wanted some art on my walls; they only cost about $3 each.

On the desk is my lovely ceramic tile on an easel of a card from Mindy Sommers’ Dreaming in Color Luman deck. Then to the left is a Royal Doulton figurine my Mom always wanted me to have because she is wearing green (my favourite colour) and her hair is up, which is a way I often wear my long hair. The framed words are the famous ones by W.H. Murray, a Scottish mountaineer and writer, who wrote this about a 1951 Everest expedition he was on.

Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness concerning all acts of initiative and creation. There is one elementary truth, the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans; that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then providence moves too.

All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision raising in one’s favour all manner of unforeseen events, meetings and material assistance which no one could have dreamed would have come their way.

You can never have too much art on your walls, or desk. You can never have too many books, and when you wake up sleepless at 3 a.m. your books and art will surround you with colour and ideas and bring joy and comfort.

And there is lots of green.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Artwork, Books

Tags: , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

