Redwork Embroidery for Dolls

I did a small 3-inch square redwork block to make into a pillow with covered corded edging for my 18” Maplelea doll Saila. I wanted something small to practice on, preparatory to making cording for a larger pillow for a chair in my bedroom. The butterfly is from a free online colouring book, and I modified it slightly by removing some lines in Photoshop.

Saila_Redwork

The fabric on the left with the white flowers is going to be cut in bias strips to cover the cording and the fabric on the right will be the backing. At least this project got me to clean up my dining room table and sewing supplies. Everything’s all organized and ready to go now for winter sewing. Knowing me, it will probably take me two more months to sew the pillow together. I get very hung up about finishing accents on the sewing machine. Things never seem to go right for me when it comes to the details. Update: I have decided to work five more squares in simple redwork designs and turn it into a quilt for my 1960-era baby doll. While tidying I found an old wooden cradle that my husband had stripped and refinished, so it seems practical to do some linens for it.

Here is a close-up of Saila’s doll Maud, who very much likes redwork as it matches the colour of her dress.

Maud
Explore posts in the same categories: Dolls, Sewing

Tags: , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “Redwork Embroidery for Dolls”

  1. bama Says:

    I have missed several new posts too. Is there a way to follow your blog and get updates?

    Your Saila is very sweet and I love your red work. :o)

    • JJ ColourArt Says:

      Thanks Carolyn!

      There seems to be a disconnect between Blogger and WordPress. If you have a WordPress blog you can follow another one just by clicking “Follow” at the top of the page, and it will show up in your reader.

      Since you are on Blogger, here are the alternate instructions for other blogs and general people in the ether:

      “Readers without WordPress.com accounts can follow a blog with the button that appears in the lower right-hand corner of WordPress.com sites. After clicking on the “Follow” button, a dialog box will pop up asking for the email address where new blog posts should be sent. Be sure to click on the confirmation link in the email that we send you. Until you’ve confirmed your request to follow, you won’t receive email notifications for new posts and updates.”


Leave a Reply

