Pammy Gets a Blankie

I recently found a free pattern online for a baby blanket that looked pretty easy to do. I modified the stitch count to 67 stitches cast on, and changed the garter stitch border to seed stitch which looks less sloppy.

I only had a 50 gram ball of Wendy Peter Pan DK yarn in a colourway they call “mini tartan” but that looks like confetti worked up in this pattern. I love it, and I squeaked out just enough in one ball for a blankie for my Star Manufacturing baby doll circa 1960, who was a childhood doll of mine.

PammyBlankie

While cleaning and decluttering recently, we uncovered this small cradle that my husband had stripped and refinished about 20 years ago. So Pammy is going in there and I need to make some mattresses and a pillow.

PammyBlankie2

I am also making a small redwork quilt for the cradle. I made one butterfly block already and just need to trace the other five out on fabric before beginning the remaining embroidery. My trusty lightbox comes in handy for tracing embroidery motifs onto fabric.

I used free online colouring book images and simplified them for embroidery.

Lightbox_Redwork

At some point I want to sew and knit some clothes for Pammy but all the patterns I can find are for modern dolls and they are much bigger than these older dolls. She only has a chest of 8.5 inches, and even the preemie knitting patterns are too big for her.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Dolls, Knitting

Tags: , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “Pammy Gets a Blankie”

  1. bama Says:

    Oh my goodness! Pammy is so cute! And what a lucky doll to have such a nice cradle! How wonderful that you have this sweet little girl from your childhood! I look forward to seeing her new bedding and outfits.

    • JJ ColourArt Says:

      I don’t think I appreciated her when younger Carolyn. I kept her though, and cleaned her up, and now I’m making things for her. I think when you get into your fifties you realize that time is running out and it’s nice to respect where you came from. We each have personal histories that are interesting.


Leave a Reply

