Books for Creative Pursuits

Well, let’s face it, every book I buy is related to creative pursuit.

Having just sprained my ankle I wanted to fill a few gaps in my book collection so I could putter at something where I could sit and not stand or get up and down like I have to do when sewing.

I really love James Gurney’s book Imaginative Realism which I bought recently so I decided to get his other book Color and Light even though it is very advanced for me. I have trouble with light in drawing, so anything to awaken my awareness of that is good. I also thought he could get me using some more unusual colour triads and such, and give myself a stretch that way.

ColorandLight_Gurney

Continuing on my map-making journey I decided I wanted a book that showed maps that people actually drew rather than mixed media or computer-generated maps, so I liked the sound of this one which describes in full-colour 200 maps from the Library of Congress in the States that were influential. It is called Cartographia: Mapping Civilizations by Vincent Virga.

cartographia_sm

I do have some Knowledge Cards with photographs of insects but I liked the sound of this book because it has some exotic species from Central and South America: 500 Insects: A Visual Reference by Stephen Marshall.

Here is an example of one of the page spreads. The photographs look fabulous as a visual reference for drawing.

500InsectsSample

Curry’s here in Ontario finally has the Stillman and Birn Zeta sketchbooks in stock. I was advised to phone a store and reserve one, which I did two weeks ago and they still haven’t phoned me to say it’s ready to pick up. Sigh. It’s on their web inventory, so it looks like I will have to call yet again. This has been the hardest art material to buy. I’ve been at it since May, phoning and e-mailing Curry’s and Stillman and Birn, desperately trying to buy one.

Coming up: maps and birds and insects and things in the Zeta sketchbook if it ever happens to get here.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Books

Tags: , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “Books for Creative Pursuits”

  1. Roseanne Dix Says:

    Well Jude, you are certainly the Lemonade Queen when it comes to the Lemons life has handed you. Love your Map ideas….Take care and give that ankle lots of TLC and lots of rest.

  2. murielmakes Says:

    I was sorry to read you have hurt your ankle again, so very frustrating and painful for you. I am glad though that you are thinking of a way to be creative while resting it and the lastest books look fabulous. I do hope that your ankle heals quickly, oh and that you manage to get those sketch books!


Leave a Reply

