A Knitted Hat from Scraps

I made this one from scraps of leftover yarns because the lovely cabled hat I made my husband two years ago got pilly and fuzzy and looked terrible ratty. We can’t have that sort of nonsense.

This is from a free pattern called Regular Guy Beanie and the pattern was okay, but this turned out too long so he is turning the ribbing up to make it fit properly. I’ll know next time how to adjust the length. I already made it shorter than the pattern called for, but that’s knitting for you, always the fiddling with gauge.

RegularGuy1

 

On this one I used a 16” circular needle and then transferred the stitches to DPNs for the last 4 rows. I also learned the technique of jogless stripes in the round, and a technique for joining yarn in the round too. I’m not sure I like the little bump that occurs for the jogless stripe but I guess it’s better than having mismatched stripes.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “A Knitted Hat from Scraps”

  1. rodanix Says:

    I love the bump…it gives it an interesting swish.

  2. JJ ColourArt Says:

    I do love a swish and a swirl!

  3. ironwing Says:

    This looks so cozy and comforting! I like the flecked yarn, the colors and pattern – they remind me of the pyrrhuloxias that visit our yard, and the red-flowered native shrubs still blooming in my hummingbird garden.

    • JJ ColourArt Says:

      You are not going to believe this Lorena but I was just sending you an e-mail about a broken link on one of your pages–synchronicity!

      I looked up the pyrrhuloxias and I had never seen it. I must look it up further in my big Dorling Kindersley bird book. It’s amazing how diverse North American species are.

      The tweed yarn is my favourite. This particular one is Wool of the Andes from Knit Picks. They also carry a tweed yarn called City Tweed that I haven’t used but it looks nice. The Knit Picks yarns aren’t the greatest, but I was trying them out.

      This tweed yarn is also the one I knit Spencer the Ratsnake in.
      https://jjbks.wordpress.com/2012/11/08/spencer-the-ratsnake-goes-exploring/

      It’s an easy, free pattern. You could incorporate actual snake patterns and colours into it quite easily.


Leave a Reply

