Baby Quilt in Disappearing 9-Patch Pattern

There’s nothing like starting early on projects. No one in my family is having a baby, but by the time I get this done they might be and I will be ready for gift-giving action!

I enjoyed making a doll quilt last December for my Maplelea doll Saila using the Disappearing 9-Patch pattern and a 2.5-inch square. For this bigger quilt I used a 4.5-inch square and cut 90 squares, then sewed ten regular 9-Patch blocks together with those squares.

They look okay but nothing special.

9Patch1

The magic happens when you cut them apart down the centre both horizontally and vertically, thus making the 9-patch you started with “disappear,” and I also find it adds some interest and movement generally.

9Patch_Disappearing

I have to juggle the smaller blocks a bit to get the fabrics balanced, but basically this is the way I am going to rotate them. It’s a good gender-neutral colour scheme, but bright and attractive for a child to enjoy. The leftover bits will go toward piecing the backing, which I always find fun.

I have a 21 year-old 6150 Pfaff machine, which is one of the last models they made in Germany. I understand from reading reviews that the newer Pfaff machines have problems with quality control, so while tempted to buy a new machine I think I’ll keep on using this workhorse.

Saila_Pfaff6150

I notice though that Pfaff has a new Free-motion Echo Quilting Foot that might fit my older machine. After talking to a quilt shop that is a Pfaff dealer, they said I should bring my machine in to see if the foot works with my machine. According to one web site it should fit as it’s a low shank, yet it is not an electronic machine, so it’s best to check first as they are about $30 to buy.

821002096_FM_EchoQuilting-Foot

To screw it in you remove the ankle that attaches the sewing feet, which takes away a lot of the visual blockage I get even with my current see-through Pfaff free motion foot. It’s worth exploring anyway as I haven’t been able to do much free motion quilting because of my knee, and if I can get a newer attachment I’ve got several small projects and about 14 quilt tops to quilt, so if I can manage a better setup that would be good.

The year 2014 will be my 30th anniversary of quilting and it still lights me up. I realized when I was cutting squares out how happy it makes me. With my leg problems quilting has gone down somewhat on my priority list and I think I’d be happier if I was able to chip away more at it.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Quilting, Sewing

Tags: , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “Baby Quilt in Disappearing 9-Patch Pattern”

  1. murielmakes Says:

    Just realised I’d missed these posts! I have a Pfaff as well, I love it. I was a gift from a friend who was moving from Germany to the USA and couldn’t take it with her.

    Hope that the foot is successful. Quilting is a great thing to do isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

