Saila’s New Necklace

I found it a bit tricky to get the scale right with this necklace. I originally started with 6mm beads as accents but after letting sit on my bead board for a couple of days I realized that they were too big. I also felt I needed to use more blue to get something that coordinated with jeans.

18inchNecklace1

I fiddled with this for ages. I was using nylon beading thread and clamshell tips to finish the ends and attach the clasp and it was very fiddly and hard to see. I had several genuine “I want to scream!” moments but managed to persevere. The feather is a charm with an iridescent centre.

SailaNecklace_close

She is wearing her original pants and t-shirt, paired with new fuchsia-coloured shoes with a nice bow on one side, her new blue and pink necklace, and a blue sweater from the Cornflower Sky set that Maplelea sells.

Saila_Belle_Maud

Her dolls Belle (on the left) and Maud (on the right in Saila’s arm) like the nice, bright colours on Saila.

I kept changing beads and trying to find smaller ones of the right colour in my stash, and dropping beads all over the floor and after several days I am glad it’s done. I can put away all the beads and get back to cutting borders and sashing for quilts.

Here’s to Saila in pink and blue!

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Dolls

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “Saila’s New Necklace”

  1. murielmakes Says:

    Oh what a lovely new necklace Saila has, it is gorgeous 🙂


Leave a Reply

