Botanical Ceramics Lead to Books of Course!

While browsing for photos to use as digital jigsaws I came across the fantastic art of Laura Zindel on ceramics and textiles. She draws insects, birds, and botanical art in black and white and transfers them to ceramics and dinnerware. I LOVE things like this.

Here are a couple of screen shots of a few items from her Moths and Botanical galleries.

LaureZindel_Moths

LauraZindel_Botanicals

One of my sisters has collected Portmeirion in the Botanic Garden pattern for years.

BotanicGardenMontage

I find it a bit busy for my taste but I do have a Portmeirion dinner plate from their Pomona series that depicts a lovely peach. I have this on my kitchen wall and it’s one of my favourite things.

MyPomonaPlate

Nothing says “Joy!” like ceramics with botanical art on them. However, Laura Zindel’s work is really my style, as I love black and white art. She lives and works in Vermont, but I assume you can buy her ceramics in Canada in specialty shops so I’ll keep an eye out for something small.

I see this stuff and I want to draw black and white insects and flowers. It’s a dream of mine, and I don’t know why I keep deferring it. I get a little antsy with too much detail, as well as having problems with pain, but perhaps if I drew something over a period of weeks rather than days, the detail would be easier to manage?

After a browse at Amazon.ca, three books decided to further my experience in life and ship to my house.

I have had Flowers by Margaret Eggleton on my wish list for some time. The thing with books is that you don’t get anywhere unless you actually draw yourself. On days when I have trouble with pain I love to sit and read books like this though. I don’t know if it’s a skewy perception or not but the British seem to have a greater appreciation of black and white artwork, and this artist is British.

Flowers_Eggleton_sm

I have one of the previous books by the people with the Eden Project called Botanical Illustration with the Eden Project and it is very good. It’s one of my favourite book covers for doing digital jigsaws, and isn’t that a recommendation?

I noticed that they have another book in the series called Natural History Painting with the Eden Project so I bought that. The last time I tried to draw a skull of a bullfrog I got a bit bogged down with colour choice and this has some information on drawing and colouring bones, as well as rocks, feathers, whatever bits and pieces you might find. It seems to be scarce so will probably hold up my free shipping for the other books I bought.

NaturalHistory_Eden_sm

Lastly, I bought Botanical Drawing in Color by Wendy Hollender who does nice work and apparently is a good teacher. One review I read of this says she has quite a bit of information on graphite, so it really isn’t just colour.

Botanical-Drawing-in-Color_sm

A couple of books I bought a year or two ago on botanical drawing used solvents with coloured pencil. Yuck, if there is anything I dislike more than burnishing, it’s using solvents with coloured pencil. The resulting work often looks like velvet paintings. I don’t see the point of using coloured pencil if you’re going to use solvents to melt the wax and make it blend like watercolour. I often use watercolour paint with coloured pencils and I like that look, but solvents…I don’t like the look of it.

These books have a different approach, which is more classic, and thus more interesting to me. So we’ll see how it goes. I’d like to do a bit of botanical and natural history drawing in my Chilean journal.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Artwork, Books

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

