New Embroidery Patterns and a Small Floss Order

I don’t really need any embroidery thread but I wanted to try the Valdani perle cotton on the recommendation of Kati Lovasz, the designer of the patterns I bought. I bought two balls of that in Size #12 and I bought a skein of Weeks Hand Dyed 6-strand cotton floss in a subtle variegated shade called Rum Raisin. I also slipped in a skein of the more expensive Threadworx Over-Dyed floss but it has 20 yards.

The Ripened Plum Valdani is for another project, but if I’m lucky I can use the Maroon Moss, which is black and maroon for two projects including the purse I’m starting with. I will be mixing in colours I already have in silk and cotton, but I wanted a base of something variegated and I was missing these colours.

ThreadOrder

I ended up buying two of Kati’s patterns for optimum mixing and matching. I intend to do several projects using these over the year. So that’s me all sorted out for a few handbag projects.

 
BewitchingBotanicals_FarawayGdn.

The first purse will use a luxurious remnant of heavy polished cotton that I bought about 10 years ago and have been saving for something special. The fabric on the left is a quilting cotton with a soft green tone-on-tone print that picks up the subtle greens in the polished cotton. I’m using the lighter colour for the flap with the Hungarian-inspired embroidery.

PurseFabric

I like to embroider in the early spring and throughout the summer because I can sit at the table on my sunporch and get more light and hear the birds singing.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Needlework

Tags: , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

