Vegan and Raw Cooking and Lifestyle

After yet another health meltdown and excruciating nerve and muscle pain and edema, I decided that I would have to change, change forever.

Is food that important that you kill yourself with it? That should be an easy answer, but many of us get hooked on these repeating patterns of relying on food for comfort. My doctor can’t help me, several medications she has put me on made me sick and did not alleviate the underlying condition.

I was re-reading (for the umpteenth time) Dr. John McDougall’s excellent book The McDougall Program: 12 Days to Dynamic Health which has been in-print since 1990. I love this book because it has recipes, but he thoughtfully talks about health and has an appendix in the back that is a basic guide for medical conditions, and the way they are conventionally treated, and the way he treats them. There is a way out, as John McDougall, Joel Fuhrman, Neal Barnard, Dean Ornish, and Joe Cross keep telling us all.

McDougalProgram

One paragraph struck me this time when reading the McDougall book:

One other suggestion is needed: Don’t be half-hearted about the deal we’re arranging. Some of you are quietly thinking: “I’ll try out McDougall’s program—sort of.”

That was me, over and over again. Of course, your health won’t completely improve in twelve days, but it’s a start, it’s a way to give the body a fighting chance.

I never have much luck with vegan recipes but I tried the Hearty Stew recipe on page 242 of my edition of the book and it was great.

HeartyVeganStew

I also decided that a bit of raw vegan food (other than carrot and celery sticks) might be interesting to add to the mix so I bought three books.

The first one is Becoming Raw by Brenda Davis et al. I thought this looked good because I have a relative who constantly worries about my protein intake on a vegan diet. Joel Fuhrman address this as well in his book Eat to Live, but this new book has even more scientific data I can peruse.

BecomingRaw_sm

The next one is a cookbook called Raw & Simple by Judita Wignall where the recipes don’t call for a food dehydrator, an expense I’m not sure I want to embrace. I wish I was one of those people who loved cooking and trying new recipes but I’m not really keen. However, I’m going to try and get interested.

RawandSimple_sm

The third one, The Simply Raw Kitchen was written by Canadian Natasha Kyssa so I thought I might actually have a chance to buy equipment or ingredients here without trying to order from the States. Americans seem to have everything, it’s amazing, but in Canada we don’t have the population to support specialty shops in rural areas like mine.

SimplyRawKitchen_sm

A final note from Joel Fuhrman:

As long as you are still breathing, it is still possible to improve your health with improvements in lifestyle and nutrition.

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Books, Health

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

