Anatomical Juxtapositions

Back in January 2010 I drew a postcard to study with the artwork of Jean-Michel Basquiat and discovered that he had a copy of Gray’s Anatomy when he was a child and often used the illustrations from the book as inspiration for art when he was an adult.

I had hoped to find a copy of the book in a used book shop but there really aren’t any around me, so I ordered an old copy online for $1 plus shipping and hope it might provide me with some inspiration. There are many, many editions of this book, most of them facsimiles of a 1918 or earlier printing. I got the one that seemed to have more illustrations, was hardcover, and was cheap.

GraysAnatomyCover2

Next stop, the human clavicle juxtaposed with a raven? Who knows? I waited almost five years for this, I figure I’m worth a buck.

Explore posts in the same categories: Artwork, Books

Tags: , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

