The Serendipity of Treasure Inside Books

I received the first three of my used books in the mail today from the UK. I was delighted to find a postcard and a cross-stitched bookmark in one book. The previous owners, Sheila and Charles from Norfolk, might be dead or in a nursing home, but their memory lives on. Perhaps Sheila worked the lovely bookmark herself? It is lined with green satin ribbon tacked down on the edges and has a tassel for flourish.

BookTreasures

The postcard is of an oil painting by Gustave Caillebotte (1848-1894) and is mislabelled The Park on the Caillebotte Property at Yerres 1875. After looking this picture up I see the real name is Portraits à la campagne 1876 (in English, portraits in the country.) I collect postcards so this beauty will go into my collection box.

In another book I found a slightly faded paper bookmark with a window enclosure where I might eventually place my own artwork.

Serendipity.

I also bought this book that I’ve had on my wish list for several months. There are scant books on the history of puppets and another one I wanted was out-of-print. However, Puppetry: A World History by Eileen Blumenthal is still in print so I wanted a copy. I have another comprehensive book called Voices of the Puppet Masters about the Wayang Golek theatre of Indonesia, but I thought this new book would be good to have.

Puppetry_sm

I still have three marionettes from my childhood, but gave the others away, alas. I have my Wayang Golek puppet of Gatotkaca whom I treasure after buying him on eBay (mislabelled as Arjuna) about 10 years ago.

If you ever saw the film Being John Malcovich, there are some wonderful scenes with marionettes in a stage theatre.

 

 

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Books

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “The Serendipity of Treasure Inside Books”

  1. raggedpoet Says:

    Norfolk England? Or USA? I lived in Norfolk in the UK! I love the face on the cover of this puppet book but I do find them odd… was terrified of puppets and dolls as a child, and I really dislike ventriloquist dummies! Something very unwholesome about them in my book!!

    • JJ ColourArt Says:

      Definitely Norfolk in England–I have a postcard with the town name but for privacy I didn’t want to specify it.

      I can see where a ventriloquist dummy would be scary, as there was a Twilight Zone episode with one and a movie. Wow, you were terrified of dolls and puppets? It makes me wonder if another child or sibling scared you with one when very young and it settled in your mind.


Leave a Reply

