Graphite Reorganization and Faber-Castell 9000 Pencils

And so the reorganization of art supplies continues…

After some frustration with the O’Bon L’Artiste pencil set I decided I needed something different for my style of drawing. Even with ten pencils in the set I found it difficult get the gradations I wanted. They never felt sharp, they just felt funny, I’m not quite sure what it was—probably my limitations, but it was frustrating to use them.

I have two Staedtler Mars Lumograph pencils from decades ago that I like. I have 2H and 3H and I find the 2H quite useful, so I was going to buy a few odd ones of those in the B grade. Then I started reading reviews and people were praising the Faber-Castell 9000 series pencils.

As usual, they were hard to scrounge up, but I did manage to find a small set of six at Michaels with a coupon to boot. I got HB, B, 2B, 4B, 6B, 8B in the set. I can’t imagine ever using the 8B but you never know, several of the botanical and architectural drawing books I have use graphite that deep. The two Staedtler pencils can go down the scale on the other side for me.

GraphiteOrganization

Then I remembered that years ago I had bought three of the water soluble Derwent pencils so I retrieved those from an all-purpose ceramic cup (8B, 6B, and 4B) and put them together with all the other graphite stuff, including tortillons, templates and value finders.

On the right in the above picture you can see a small rubber stamp. I bought a cheap set years ago related to mythology and this Ouroboros stamp was in there, never used. I thought I’d use it as a cartouche to put the date and title in my new 52-week sketchbook project.

CartoucheFun2

I have always liked to use graphite. Here’s hoping I will enjoy it more with the new Faber-Castell 9000 pencils.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Artwork

Tags: , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “Graphite Reorganization and Faber-Castell 9000 Pencils”


  1. My son got a set of the Derwent water soluble graphite pencils this Christmas and we tested them out – they are great so he is going to share them with me. I love the stamp, it looks really fun and i like that you can use it in so many ways. I shall look forward to seeing your 52 week project sounds like fun and also a big committment. Good luck and Happy New Year. Sue

    • JJ ColourArt Says:

      Oh good, I shall be brave and try them too.

      I rarely use stamps but this one came with a set I got at a bargain price years ago. It seems like a commitment but hopefully not a big one. I just wanted to get myself going on something with my art supplies.

      Happy New Year to you see! I enjoy your blog as always.


Leave a Reply

