Another Round of Books and Art

With a bit of money coming in February I wanted to get a couple of books I had on my wish list. They weren’t available in used editions for less, so I bought new paperbacks.

Fear by Thich Nhat Hahn is one I’ve been looking at. We have several big things going on this year, the principal ones being selling our house and a cross-country move of 4500 kms. So I need to deal with fear and impermanence, and I can start now in preparing myself!

Fear_Hanh

Mary Corbet on the Needle and Thread blog has been using a book of illustrations to do up a large surface embroidery piece on linen. The book is Secret Garden by Johanna Basford, an illustrator from Scotland. I was interested in using snippets of this as inspiration for small embroideries.

SecretGarden_Cover

As well as larger motifs she has a charming mix of smaller motifs and trees, birds that I liked. Here is a partial look at a page:

SecretGarden_Basford2

I love line drawings and ordered this book and another one called Animal Kingdom: Color Me, Draw Me by Millie Marotta that I had been saving up for. She is an artist from Wales and has so many birds, animals and flora in this that it really knocked me out.

AnimalKingdom_Color

As an example here is a beautiful heron, I am nuts about herons. I can see where filling something like this in with embroidery would be a knockout, particularly in subtle, heron-like shades of blue, cream, grey, and beige.

AnimalKingdom_heron

The one that decided it for me was her exquisite moths. I like anyone who draws moths and to interpret these in embroidery on a small coin purse or handbag really interested me. I’m not sure if she has a full page or single motifs of several moths but there is so much you could interpret in thread for these in beautiful greys, taupes, browns, and creams or a bit of red and blue—whatever.

Marotta_moth2

These books will be on back-order for some weeks, which gives me time to save more money, but they are some of the only illustrations I have seen that just thrill me for interpretation in fabric and thread.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Books

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “Another Round of Books and Art”

  1. Roseanne Dix Says:

    that is one very big scarey move – but I do rather envy you. A fresh start – new challenges. But huge step to take. How on earth will you move all your wonderful books!

    • JJ ColourArt Says:

      Yeah, I groan when I think about moving 15 bookcases of books plus my card collection, but we have a fairly small collection compared to some.

      There are professional moving companies with huge vans that move stuff across country. Often they load more than one house in a single van, so they are probably used to moving books.


  2. Good luck with the house move. I will search out the line drawing books as I think my son would be very interested. Sue

    • JJ ColourArt Says:

      Oh good Sue. There are several other books of the same genre. I chose these two specifically for the plants and animals and their less folk-arty look. I could want more but can only afford one really, so I figured if I bought the two it would take a while for the bill to go through. Ha-ha.


Leave a Reply

