The Brain and Cursive Writing (Why Your Fountain Pen is Useful)

I was a bit surprised when I got my vintage fountain pen cleaned up and operational in January that my cursive writing abilities seemed to have gone awry.

I could write but got confused with certain letters, how to form them or how to join them, and I had forgotten how to write some capital letters. It took me about 2 weeks to remember how to write an upper and lower case “z” in cursive because it was like the memory was there but the movement wasn’t accessible. I’ve been printing for years for clarity and since e-mail took over correspondence I rarely use my cursive writing. Big mistake.

According to these articles, not only fine motor skills but also neural pathways can atrophy (or never be built in the case of children) if you don’t use your brain for cursive writing. What a revelation!

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/06/03/science/whats-lost-as-handwriting-fades.html?emc=edit_bg_20140603&nl=booming&nlid=59208117&_r=0

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/memory-medic/201303/why-writing-hand-could-make-you-smarter

That really spurred me on to a regular practice of cursive writing. My writing has gradually improved as the memory of the movements came back but I still find I have to slow down on some words to make sure I’m joining the letters properly. I sometimes find it hard to remember to do the third loop on cursive “m” because of course in typing it only has two loops. The join between lower case “b” and other letters sometimes is hard for me to remember. I still can’t believe it, can’t believe something that was once automatic has to be thought about so carefully to get it right.

Cursive writing with a fountain pen is so enjoyable though, amazing how it makes a difference. I am enjoying using the new Rohrer and Klingner Alt-Goldgrün ink I bought for the Pilot Metropolitan pen. Even with a fine nib like that it shades very prettily.

I bought a nice new journal, another one from Peter Pauper Press but slightly larger than my other one.

AsianGardenJournal_Pauper

Explore posts in the same categories: Health, Writing and Journalling

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

