Envelopes Handmade from Maps

I have an old Nelson Atlas of the World that I bought in a flea market for $3. I often use the coloured pages to cut covers for signatures in bookbinding to give the edges some zip when using Coptic stitch. Tonight during yet another round of insomnia, I decided to use it to make four quarter-fold envelopes using a cardboard template I made a few months ago.

Click to enlarge.

AtlasEnvelopesJJ

What I liked about this is that I don’t have to line the envelopes as the paper is heavier than scrapbooking paper, plus it’s double-sided. It looks very fresh for a nice, artsy envelope.

It’s unfortunate that I don’t have maps large enough to cut out larger half-fold envelopes, but I am pleased with these. I’m off to glue them and weight them overnight to dry.

I hope, having satisfied this particular creative imperative, that I can now get to sleep.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

