Planning to Sew a Simple Afternoon Blouse

I just bought the PDF pattern for The Afternoon Blouse by Jennifer Lauren, and Fabricland had a sale on with craft or quilting cotton for $6 per meter. I bought enough for 3 blouses (1.6 meters each) and a couple of buttons and some thread.

There are two versions of this blouse, one with a straight accent and one with a round accent. I plan to make the straight one first, but one of the others will have the rounded accent.

AfternoonBlouse_Alternate

I’m getting frustrated and down with winter coming on and our house not selling, so I wanted to do something simple to keep busy and I could use some new tops.

These prints are a bit different for me. The middle one is a beautiful dark green with grey swirls, and the others are brighter fuchsia and pale aqua. I’m going to make a muslin first out of plain broadcloth to make sure the fit is right, and then I’ll get going in the good fabrics.

The PDF pattern has 31 pages to print out and tape together. That might take me a while and then I’ll probably trace a size off on tracing paper to use for my test blouse. I’m between two sizes so will have to grade the pattern.

AfternoonBlouse_Fabrics

It’s cheered me up quite a bit to have a happy project making something for myself. Normally I wouldn’t fiddle around taping PDF patterns for clothing, as the pieces are generally too numerous to tape, but this was such a cute blouse I decided I could handle it.

And several hours later, I got the patterns taped together and then traced them off while my fabric was prewashing. So I’m ready to go.

AfternoonPatternMade

 

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Sewing

Tags: , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

