Baby Quilt and Padded Phone Case

I finished the baby quilt I have been making for the last couple of years. I had some leftover blocks from cutting the Disappearing 9-Patch pattern I used for this quilt, so took four of them and made an unquilted 18-inch pillow, and then used the last block for an accent in a matching tote bag.

JJ_BabyQuilt_Accessories

The tote bag came from a great free pattern, Quilted Tote Bag, at Craftsy by Lindsay Conner. I modified the size to make it bigger and quilted it using a vertical wave. Then I added two interior pockets, a magnetic snap, and a piece of illustration board in a fabric sleeve to provide stability at the bottom, and I made the straps a bit longer so it would go over-the-shoulder.

QuiltedToteFront_JJ

For the pillow I used a basic tutorial from the Sew Mama Sew blog for the cover, but interlined it with plain cream-coloured cotton to hide the patchwork seams. After sewing it together I zigzagged the edges together before turning so it could be washed safely without fraying.

I got everything finished and delivered one week before the baby arrived. I was so pleased that I persevered and got it done in a timely manner. I am way out of practice with machine quilting, so did the quilt fairly simply, using medium stippling over the busy patchwork and doing the border with a leaf design in the corners and then side-to-side squiggles on the lengths. I forgot to take a picture of the back to show the quilting.

I recently had to buy an unlocked cell phone for travelling, and I couldn’t find a case for it, so I made my own padded case. This was done using an excellent tutorial from Jenya on the While she was sleeping blog. Her custom measurements worked perfectly, and I modified it by making the flap a bit longer to provide extra padding. I also substituted Velcro for the button and elastic closure.

JJ_PhoneCase

I liked sewing this so much that I’m going to use the tutorial again for making a case for my portable Garmin GPS device. This time I’m going to machine quilt over the fabric and batting to provide more stability over the larger area.

Once again I find myself thanking someone for generously providing free instructions with lots of pictures. It was great of Jenya to post such a wonderful tutorial and I appreciate it.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Quilting, Sewing

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “Baby Quilt and Padded Phone Case”

  1. chloetarot Says:

    Wow, those all look amazing! As you say, good going getting the baby stuff done before the baby arrived 😀

    • JJ ColourArt Says:

      It was such a relief Chloe as I dislike being late and I knew I was going to have too much to do with regard to moving to concentrate on finishing baby gifts next month.

      Thanks for your comment on them being amazing!


  2. Great looking quilt, well done. Karen


Leave a Reply

