I Resurrect a Pen Roll

I originally sewed two of these rolls to use for taking art supplies in the field. One was for wet and one for dry media. I found them a bit awkward to keep clean, so I switched to plastic cases, and these rolls have been sitting in my fabric cupboard unused for over two years.

fieldkits_JJ

I will be travelling next month and living in motels for a while when we move across the country, and the movers won’t take liquids, so I am taking my fountain pens and fountain pen ink with me in the car. I will be able to protect my supplies and use them for corresponding!

I packed five boxes yesterday and was feeling tired and didn’t sleep well, so today I spent an hour gently organizing my inks and pens. I have some packages of puppy training pads that I bought for using with the kitty litter box and generally protecting motel rooms. So I used two to line a plastic box and then nestled all my ink bottles in there. The pads turn to gel if they get wet and seal in liquid, just in case my ink spills or something.

Then I resurrected the moss green corduroy roll and converted it to a fountain pen roll. It folds in half and then rolls up and ties securely, and provides some padding and protection.

JJFountainPenRoll2

Sitting pretty with six fountain pens, two for drawing with waterproof Noodler’s inks, plus a ballpoint pen that I use for addressing envelopes.

JJFountainPenRoll

It brings new meaning to the phrase “Ready to roll.”

 

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Sewing, Writing and Journalling

Tags: , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “I Resurrect a Pen Roll”

  1. mooninfog Says:

    Wishing you good luck and amusing adventures on your move!

    • JJ ColourArt Says:

      Thanks Debra, I’ve been packing and packing my decks. I have been trying to rectify my label of “anxiety” and am replacing it with “adventure” to try and trick the brain into thinking this is a fun adventure. 😉


  2. Great tips for packing your pens and inks. Good luck on your move, which state are you moving too? Karen


Leave a Reply

