Acrylic Abstracts, Lizards, Swiss Chard, and Books

I sometimes feel like I’m vying to build the most comprehensive art techniques library I have known. I am choosy about what I buy because many of these books say the same thing, but I have quite a few despite that. So many of them are useful and inspirational.

I had never heard of this artist and she has a new book coming out but I was intrigued by her book on painting vegetables. I actually have a few books that talk about drawing and painting onions, it seems to be a popular starting point, but she has some other things I liked: Watercolour Fruit & Vegetable Portraits by Billy Showell.

Swiss chard anyone?

WatercolourFruit_Vegetable

After painting my fireplace mantel a deep blue, I decided I needed a BIG abstract painting for over the fireplace.

JJLRMantel

There are none available that I can afford so I’m going to try myself to paint something. The rug already looks like an abstract painting and I got an idea for a large wall piece from a book I have on painting abstracts, a jumping off point. The last time I tried to paint with acrylics on canvas I didn’t enjoy it—I don’t like canvas, but maybe illustration board or canvas board would work? I have a few colours of Golden fluid acrylics and some gesso, soft gel medium, and some other medium by Golden, so I only need a few colours or larger bottles to start. I use CMYK approximations to mix acrylics from four colours, but I’ve gotten used to mixing with a fuller 12 or 18-colour watercolour palette, and I’m not sure what colours I want now for acrylic.

I was thinking that if I can’t get a large enough board I could do a diptych or something. I borrowed some books from the library with scant information and I have a couple of books on painting but nothing specific to acrylics. So obviously I bought some.

Painting in Acrylics: The Indispensable Guide by Lorena Kloosterboer looked comprehensive and got good reviews.

PaintinginAcrylics

Compendium of Acrylic Painting Techniques: 300 tips, techniques and trade secrets by Gill Barron looked interesting and has good write-ups on each technique according to reviews. That should do me.

AcrylicPaintingTechniques

While browsing acrylic paintings and techniques online, I came across a speed painting video at YouTube of a fellow painting a lizard. I like painting lizards but doing them in watercolour can be tricky. What I liked about his video was the way he underpainted and then overlaid and adjusted the scales and undertone as he went along. This looked like something I could try on illustration board. It’s a rather long video but fascinating.

Now if I could just get the energy to unpack the rest of my art supplies…I’ve had a flare-up of pain and insomnia, so waiting for that to settle down a bit before forging into an art supply shop for a board and paints.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Artwork, Books

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “Acrylic Abstracts, Lizards, Swiss Chard, and Books”


  1. I love your rug and your abstract painting sounds great. Sorry you are struggling and hope you come good soon. We moved on the weekend and I am sure I have more boxes of art supplies then clothes. I know what my priorities are. Off for more unpacking. Karen


Leave a Reply

