Watercolour Mixing Chart and More Handmade Envelopes Meet a Mantis

I always do a colour chart of the paints and pencils I have here, but I have never done an actual mixing chart using the colours of the palette. Since I am not familiar with some of the Winsor & Newton peculiarities I thought I’d make a chart with the 24 colours I will have. I am still waiting for mail delivery of 7 but I made a start.

WNColourChart

I drew up my own rectangles for each colour or mix and they measure 10 x 14 mm, and this will be really full after I’m done. I find it tedious but I want to persevere as a chart like this is very helpful. Each colour ends up with 2 squares when you use this method but it looks pretty.

Last year I bought a pad of double-sided scrapbooking paper and meant to make some envelopes but we had to move and everything was packed away. So I hauled it out three days ago and started making business-sized envelopes. I eventually ended up with 14 because that was how many different patterns there were in the book of 42 pieces of paper. I love the subtle look of these coordinating colours.

Envy1_Front_Back

Envy2_Front_Back

A friend of mine saw me bemoaning the fact that I couldn’t find a mantis figure to go with some new animal decks that featured one. I have always liked mantids and at our old property, all the little babies would hatch out in the Fall and we’d see hundreds of them.

So she sent me this gloriously large plastic mantis (thank you Debra!!) who was a big help when gluing and weighting envelopes. Plastic figures save the day once more. I’ll have to hunt up some suitable cards for a comparison of artwork of this insect. (Which you can see: Comparison of Mantid Cards.)

Mmmm, the glory of colour.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Artwork, Writing and Journalling

Tags: , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “Watercolour Mixing Chart and More Handmade Envelopes Meet a Mantis”


  1. Totally scrumptious envelopes!! and I love the mantis, I had to scroll back for a second look. Can’t wait to see your colour chart. Like you I always to a colour chart for all my art supplies, but have never done a mixing chart. It will really teach you how the colours work together. Karen

    • JJ ColourArt Says:

      Hi Karen, I am quite keen on this. I saw the fellow from ParkaBlogs doing this and he does one for every brand of paint which yields some surprises.

      After I do this one, I might have a go at doing a mixing chart for my old Van Gogh watercolours. They are supposedly “student grade” but in relation to other student paints they always seemed okay to me. I expect to get a few surprises when mixing them in comparison the the W & N half pans.

      My first surprise was how transparent the W & N viridian colour is in comparison to the same colour in the Van Gogh set. I’ll have to check the colour index number…the W & N Viridian is PG18 and the Van Gogh is PG7 which explains the difference but I need to see it on a chart I think to fully understand this difference.

      Lots of fun!!!


Leave a Reply

